Our history

Discover the rich history of La Réserve.

1800

In around the year 1800, there used to be a vast strip of sand dunes that extended from Hazegras to the fishing village of Heist. At this time, these areas were rented to the Revenue Collector of Public lands that used them as a hunting ground.

Under Dutch jurisdiction, part of the area (172 hectares) was sold to Baron de Croeser. The area in Heist (116 hectares) was bought by Franciscus Frankin.

1900

In 1900, the neighbourhood of Duinbergen was formed and in 1911 the Knocke Duinbergen Extension was created. The formation of the “Société Immobilière Knocke Balnéaire” by Jozef Nellens (1880-1934) led to the full development of Albertstrand beach.

1924

In 1924, “la Société” built its first hotel that was given the name “Pavillon du Lac”. Shortly afterwards, it was also decided to build a casino. Work began in 1929 in partnership with the local council and the casino opened on 5 July 1930.

Both Albertstrand and the casino played a role in the further development of Knokke as a renowned Belgian coastal city.

1949

The charming “Pavillon du Lac” sustained serious damage during the Second World War. In 1949, the luxurious hotel “La Réserve” was erected in the same spot. The hotel became one of the favourite meeting places for political leaders, intellectuals, actors, writers and royalty. For Princess Paola, Frank Sinatra, Marlene Dietrich, Brigitte Bardot, Maurice Chevalier, Gilbert Bécaud, Fernandel, Sacha Distel and may others, the hotel was the perfect base for relaxation and luxury.

1976

In 1976, the hotel also began to offer thalassotherapy (seawater therapy) and became known as one of the most outstanding luxury hotels in the region.

2008

However, deterioration and wear and tear to the hotel led to it being demolished in 2008. Part of the demolition rubble was used as the foundations for the well-known “Cavalia” horse show and the dated furniture from this sophisticated hotel was gained a new use in a hotel in the Republic of the Congo. In November 2008, work began on the new luxury hotel and apartment complex.

2011

In 2011, the new hotel opened and again became the place to be seen, under the management of the Walravens family.

2021

In 2021, 10 years after the opening of the new hotel, the Walravens family decided to sell the building to two top Belgian investors: Mark Couke and Bart Versluys. Both men have a burning desire to achieve in collaboration with the Walravens' family the 5th star and intend to fully renovate La Réserve Resort. The operating company remains under the aegis of Edouard Walravens.

Notre histoire

Découvrez la riche histoire de La Réserve.

1800

Vers 1800, d’immenses dunes s’étendaient entre Hazegras et le village de pêcheurs de Heist. À l’époque, la zone était louée au Receveur des Domaines, qui l’utilisait comme terrain de chasse.

Sous la juridiction néerlandaise, une partie de la zone (172 ha) a été vendue au baron de Croeser. La zone près de Heist (116 ha) a été achetée par Franciscus Frankin.

1900

Duinbergen a vu le jour en 1910 et Knocke Duinbergen Extension en 1911. La fondation de la Société Immobilière Knocke Balnéaire par Jozef Nellens (1880-1934) a permis à l’Albertstrand de se développer pleinement.

1924

En 1924, la Société a construit son premier hôtel, baptisé « Pavillon du Lac ». Peu de temps après, il a été décidé de construire aussi un casino. Les travaux ont commencé en 1929, en collaboration avec la commune. Il a été inauguré le 5 juillet 1930.

La plage Albertstrand et le casino ont tous deux contribué à faire de Knokke une célèbre ville côtière belge.

1949

Le fabuleux « Pavillon du Lac » a subi de graves dommages durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En 1949, le luxueux hôtel « La Réserve » a été érigé au même endroit. L’hôtel est devenu l’un des lieux de rencontre préférés des dirigeants politiques, des intellectuels, des acteurs, des écrivains et de la royauté. La princesse Paola, Frank Sinatra, Marlene Dietrich, Brigitte Bardot, Maurice Chevalier, Gilbert Bécaud, Fernandel, Sacha Distel et bien d’autres ont vu dans cet hôtel un lieu de détente et de luxe.

1976

Un espace de thalassothérapie lui a été ajouté en 1976. L’hôtel était alors considéré comme l’un des meilleurs hôtels de luxe de la région.

2008

En raison de son état de délabrement et de son usure, l’hôtel a été démoli en 2008. Une partie des décombres a servi de fondation au célèbre spectacle équestre « Cavalia », et le contenu obsolète de l’hôtel huppé a été réutilisé par un hôtel situé en République du Congo. Les travaux du nouvel hôtel de luxe et du complexe d’appartements ont commencé en novembre 2008.

2011

En 2011, le nouvel hôtel a ouvert ses portes pour redevenir the place to be, sous la direction de la famille Walravens.

2021

En 2021, 10 ans après l’ouverture du nouvel hôtel, la famille Walravens a décidé de vendre le bâtiment à deux grands investisseurs belges: M. Marc Coucke et M. Bart Versluys. Les deux messieurs souhaitent décrocher la 5ème étoile avec la famille Walravens et rénover entièrement La Réserve Resort. La société d’exploitation restera sous l’aile de M. Edouard Walravens.